New Zealand Law Society - Public Law Committee

Public Law Committee

The Public Law Committee monitors reform proposals in public and administrative law. The Committee regularly makes submissions on bills and law reform consultations.

About us

The Public Law Committee was established to advise the Law Society Board and contribute to proposals for legislative, regulatory, or other change in the area of public law. The Committee’s area of work includes:

  • The Rule of Law.
  • Constitutional law, including key constitutional principles such as representative democracy, judicial independence, and the relationship between branches of government.
  • Administrative law, including administrative decision making, regulatory frameworks and systems, and the powers and independence of investigative and oversight bodies.
  • The structure, functions, and powers of central and local government bodies.

Our people

Debra Angus is the committee convenor. Debra is an expert adviser on public, constitutional, electoral and parliamentary law and procedure. A former Deputy Clerk of the House of Representatives, legal adviser to Parliament’s Privileges Committee, and the Regulations Review Committee, Debra has also advised select committees on legislative scrutiny, inquiries, and petitions. Debra has been a member of the committee since 2017, and was appointed convenor in 2021.

The committee is made up of those with an interest and expertise in public law:

  • Nick Crang
  • Susannah Shaw
  • Gareth Richards
  • Scott Fletcher
  • Liz Fellows
  • Tim Stephens
  • Sarah Jerebine
  • Tiho Mijatov
  • Lizzy Wiessing
  • Lucy Kenner

For queries relating to this committee, please email our Senior Law Reform & Advocacy Advisor, Nilu Ariyaratne:

For media enquiries, please contact

Terms of reference The Rule of Law

Lawyer Listing for Bots